Cadillac XLR Forum banner

1 - 20 of 27 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I want to rotate my tires and I would like to know if the monitors need to reset at the dealer or if it can be done at home. :flag
 

·
Banned
Joined
·
0 Posts
I'm no expert however I believe they reset themselves once every few minutes. I know I had a tire repaired due to an encounter with a sheet metal screw. Once the tire was remounted and inflated it continued to show as a low tire until I drove it for a mile or two. After a short time it reset and all is good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
this can be done at home, but there is a "special" tool required.

It's basically just a magnet that is placed over the valve stem, you then hold down the lock and unlock buttons on your FOB and the horn will honk
that will begin the learning mode of the monitors inside each tire.
begin LF and continuing clockwise, each tire will honk, and a double honk at the end will signify success.

I have the factory print out with detailed instructions on this
and the tool part # someplace at home, I'll try to locate :thumbs
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
mswaim said:
I'm no expert however I believe they reset themselves once every few minutes. I know I had a tire repaired due to an encounter with a sheet metal screw. Once the tire was remounted and inflated it continued to show as a low tire until I drove it for a mile or two. After a short time it reset and all is good.
If you rotate tires the left front tire becomes the left rear etc. Each transmiter would have to be reset to show it's new location. In your case the wheel and tire were put back in their original location. Thanks for your reply anyway, we are all here to try to help one another. :thumbs
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
1_XLR said:
this can be done at home, but there is a "special" tool required.

It's basically just a magnet that is placed over the valve stem, you then hold down the lock and unlock buttons on your FOB and the horn will honk
that will begin the learning mode of the monitors inside each tire.
begin LF and continuing clockwise, each tire will honk, and a double honk at the end will signify success.

I have the factory print out with detailed instructions on this
and the tool part # someplace at home, I'll try to locate :thumbs

Thanks I'll try that...I have the tool part number...Kent-Moore part number J41760 if you want to buy one go to http://www.spxkentmoore.com. It cost over $50.00.
The tool is actually a magnet. I have a 2002 Vette and went to radio shack and bought a magnet to put over the valve stems..It worked on the vette but I'll keep you posted on the XLR.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
XLR4me said:
Thanks I'll try that...I have the tool part number...Kent-Moore part number J41760 if you want to buy one go to http://www.spxkentmoore.com. It cost over $50.00.
The tool is actually a magnet. I have a 2002 Vette and went to radio shack and bought a magnet to put over the valve stems..It worked on the vette but I'll keep you posted on the XLR.
Yes, it works on the XLR as well .......save your $50!
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
as written in the service document

1. select the ACC position on the ignition switch.
2. simultaneously press the keyless entry transmitter lock and unlock buttons until a double horn cherp sounds, indicating the sensor learn mode has been enabled.

IMPORTANT
If a horn chirp does not sound after 15 seconds, remove then reinstal the sensor activating tool

3. start with the LF tire, hold the J41760 over the left front valve stem until a horn chirp sounds
4. after the horn chirp sounds, proceed as in step 3 for the next 3 sensors in the following order
RF, RR, LR
5. after the LR sensor is learned, a double horn chirp will sound indicating all sensor Ids have been learned
6. select the OFF position on the ignition switch to exit the learn mode
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
10 Posts
i tryed to reset my tire monitors with the radioshack magnet trick no luck also when i hold the two buttoms down on my fob it doesnt chirp twice as stated in this thread it only chirps once what next if would be nice to know what the psi is without having to manually check all the time
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
234 Posts
Vauge memory of doing this some time ago... I think the door needs to be closed (fob outside) with the ACC mode on. Hold the two buttons longer than you think... nothing happens until it honks twice.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
actually one cherp at the beginning is enough. double cherp on compleation.
If you're not getting a cherp at LF (within 15 seconds), then your magnet probably isn't strong enough.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
Magnet didn't work on my 2006 XLR

Just wanted to pass along some info I discovered regarding my 2006 XLR. I recently switched to my winter rims/tires (don't laugh) and the tire store could not reset the TPMS in the usual fashion (I even had a printout of the procedure nicely posted by 1_XLR). At first, there was no indication of any dash warnings ... Then, it would come on sporadically.

Upon returning to the tire store today, we discover (by accident) that these TPMS were different than those he ever reset in the past. Using this tool (CLICK HERE), the TPMS responded to the frequency triggering side instead of the usual magnetic side. The procedure was exactly the same ... Just the triggering method was different. I'm guessing that GM has updated this component from earlier models ... Can anyone confirm this?

Hope this info helpz,
427
 
G

·
C,
Actually mine set automatically on my V. When I put the 20's on with the old TPM's they reset themsleves after driving 5 miles. I'm not going to question it, I just like it.
Bob
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
93 Posts
standby- At first, I thought mine automatically reset (like my previous car) ... But it would cause an intermittent dash warning. On occasion, it would occur on startup ... But most times, it would happen about 30 mins into my commute.
 
G

·
C,
I bought a jack, spinner wrench and impact gun and take my rims off every once in a while to clean the back side. I also will paint the edge & center of the disc brake silver the next time I have them off, which as you know gets rusty looking. The TPM's reset every time within 5 miles. My new rims are TPM friendly and have two holes, one in the back for the TPM's and one on the front side for a valve for air.
Bob
standby- At first, I thought mine automatically reset (like my previous car) ... But it would cause an intermittent dash warning. On occasion, it would occur on startup ... But most times, it would happen about 30 mins into my commute.






 

·
Registered
Joined
·
6 Posts
tpms reset

If you call a tire store(discount tire co. or americas tire co) you will find that most can or soon can reset the tpms system with a special reset tool,as all vehicles will have tpms by 2008 all tire stores will need to have these, by the way ,we do it for free as well as free flat tire repairs and the resetting only takes a few mins.
 
G

·
I guess it would be a nice ride, but it sure would cost me a lot of money
Bob
If you call a tire store(discount tire co. or americas tire co) you will find that most can or soon can reset the tpms system with a special reset tool,as all vehicles will have tpms by 2008 all tire stores will need to have these, by the way ,we do it for free as well as free flat tire repairs and the resetting only takes a few mins.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
1,142 Posts
C,
Actually mine set automatically on my V. When I put the 20's on with the old TPM's they reset themsleves after driving 5 miles. I'm not going to question it, I just like it.
Bob

The TPMs have always reset themselves, but unless you put the same monitor back to the same location when the wheels were changed, then the reading inside will not be for the wheel you think it is. You may want to test this.
 
1 - 20 of 27 Posts
Top