Cadillac XLR Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,948 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Being a Florida resident I occasionally take my XLR to the car wash (high quality) to get the salt off instead of washing it myself.

My question is this can I leave the general area of where the car is and take the key FOB with me? The car wash people hate me since I make them keep the FOB in the car and use a supervisor to move the car around.

I am hesitent to leave it running during the wash process and do not feel comfortable leaving the key in the car in the event somebody inadvertantly locks the car with the FOB in it.

ALSO we may need to set up a check list for XLR owners who are planning to use the car wash:

1. Key FOB:

2. Be sure that the automatic wipers are turned off so that they don't come on during the wash process.

3. Turn Radio Off.

Regards.

100% free webcam site! | Awesome chicks and it is absolutely free! | Watch free live sex cam - easy as 1-2-3

·
Registered
411 Posts
First, the good news is that unlike the new Nissan 350z, the car wash brushes will not accidentally open the doors (bet that is a surprise for a few 350z owners).

For the XLR, the answer to your question may depend upon the settings in the personalization system. If you turn the passive locking off and don't hit the lock button, the car should not lock. If you take the fob with you, then you can be sure it won't lock and you can always use the buttons on the fob to reopen it when the passive lock engages.

If you leave the car with the fob and the XLR is still running, then any attempt to shut it down will result in the "No fob, Off or Auxiliary?" message with chimes. So, that situation is covered.

Does your car wash require that you leave the car in neutral and/or running?

If it were me, I would want the fob with me (but I also have an adversion to other people/machines touching the XLR).

Andy

·
Registered
20 Posts
Two FOBs?