Resetting Tire Pressure Monitors [Archive] - Cadillac XLR Forum: XLR and XLR-V Forums

: Resetting Tire Pressure Monitors


XLR4me
07-22-2004, 01:34 PM
I want to rotate my tires and I would like to know if the monitors need to reset at the dealer or if it can be done at home. :flag

mswaim
07-22-2004, 03:09 PM
I'm no expert however I believe they reset themselves once every few minutes. I know I had a tire repaired due to an encounter with a sheet metal screw. Once the tire was remounted and inflated it continued to show as a low tire until I drove it for a mile or two. After a short time it reset and all is good.

1_XLR
07-22-2004, 03:11 PM
this can be done at home, but there is a "special" tool required.

It's basically just a magnet that is placed over the valve stem, you then hold down the lock and unlock buttons on your FOB and the horn will honk
that will begin the learning mode of the monitors inside each tire.
begin LF and continuing clockwise, each tire will honk, and a double honk at the end will signify success.

I have the factory print out with detailed instructions on this
and the tool part # someplace at home, I'll try to locate :thumbs

XLR4me
07-22-2004, 03:37 PM
I'm no expert however I believe they reset themselves once every few minutes. I know I had a tire repaired due to an encounter with a sheet metal screw. Once the tire was remounted and inflated it continued to show as a low tire until I drove it for a mile or two. After a short time it reset and all is good.

If you rotate tires the left front tire becomes the left rear etc. Each transmiter would have to be reset to show it's new location. In your case the wheel and tire were put back in their original location. Thanks for your reply anyway, we are all here to try to help one another. :thumbs

XLR4me
07-22-2004, 03:44 PM
this can be done at home, but there is a "special" tool required.

It's basically just a magnet that is placed over the valve stem, you then hold down the lock and unlock buttons on your FOB and the horn will honk
that will begin the learning mode of the monitors inside each tire.
begin LF and continuing clockwise, each tire will honk, and a double honk at the end will signify success.

I have the factory print out with detailed instructions on this
and the tool part # someplace at home, I'll try to locate :thumbs


Thanks I'll try that...I have the tool part number...Kent-Moore part number J41760 if you want to buy one go to http://www.spxkentmoore.com. It cost over $50.00.
The tool is actually a magnet. I have a 2002 Vette and went to radio shack and bought a magnet to put over the valve stems..It worked on the vette but I'll keep you posted on the XLR.

mswaim
07-22-2004, 03:55 PM
Oops. I missed that one for sure. (but I did learn something and at my age that pretty good......) :cheers

1_XLR
07-22-2004, 04:54 PM
Thanks I'll try that...I have the tool part number...Kent-Moore part number J41760 if you want to buy one go to http://www.spxkentmoore.com. It cost over $50.00.
The tool is actually a magnet. I have a 2002 Vette and went to radio shack and bought a magnet to put over the valve stems..It worked on the vette but I'll keep you posted on the XLR.

Yes, it works on the XLR as well .......save your $50!

XLR4me
07-22-2004, 05:37 PM
Oops. I missed that one for sure. (but I did learn something and at my age that pretty good......) :cheers


To You :cheers

1_XLR
07-23-2004, 04:08 PM
1. select the ACC position on the ignition switch.
2. simultaneously press the keyless entry transmitter lock and unlock buttons until a double horn cherp sounds, indicating the sensor learn mode has been enabled.

IMPORTANT
If a horn chirp does not sound after 15 seconds, remove then reinstal the sensor activating tool

3. start with the LF tire, hold the J41760 over the left front valve stem until a horn chirp sounds
4. after the horn chirp sounds, proceed as in step 3 for the next 3 sensors in the following order
RF, RR, LR
5. after the LR sensor is learned, a double horn chirp will sound indicating all sensor Ids have been learned
6. select the OFF position on the ignition switch to exit the learn mode

turbodaddy
11-14-2006, 07:29 PM
i tryed to reset my tire monitors with the radioshack magnet trick no luck also when i hold the two buttoms down on my fob it doesnt chirp twice as stated in this thread it only chirps once what next if would be nice to know what the psi is without having to manually check all the time

Caly
11-15-2006, 06:22 AM
Vauge memory of doing this some time ago... I think the door needs to be closed (fob outside) with the ACC mode on. Hold the two buttons longer than you think... nothing happens until it honks twice.

1_XLR
11-15-2006, 09:01 AM
actually one cherp at the beginning is enough. double cherp on compleation.
If you're not getting a cherp at LF (within 15 seconds), then your magnet probably isn't strong enough.

turbodaddy
11-15-2006, 06:39 PM
thanks for the reply i will try some different magnets

427
11-24-2006, 08:16 PM
Just wanted to pass along some info I discovered regarding my 2006 XLR. I recently switched to my winter rims/tires (don't laugh) and the tire store could not reset the TPMS in the usual fashion (I even had a printout of the procedure nicely posted by 1_XLR). At first, there was no indication of any dash warnings ... Then, it would come on sporadically.

Upon returning to the tire store today, we discover (by accident) that these TPMS were different than those he ever reset in the past. Using this tool (CLICK HERE (http://www.tipstool.com/)), the TPMS responded to the frequency triggering side instead of the usual magnetic side. The procedure was exactly the same ... Just the triggering method was different. I'm guessing that GM has updated this component from earlier models ... Can anyone confirm this?

Hope this info helpz,
427

standby
11-24-2006, 11:35 PM
C,
Actually mine set automatically on my V. When I put the 20's on with the old TPM's they reset themsleves after driving 5 miles. I'm not going to question it, I just like it.
Bob

427
11-25-2006, 07:05 AM
standby- At first, I thought mine automatically reset (like my previous car) ... But it would cause an intermittent dash warning. On occasion, it would occur on startup ... But most times, it would happen about 30 mins into my commute.

standby
11-25-2006, 10:47 AM
C,
I bought a jack, spinner wrench and impact gun and take my rims off every once in a while to clean the back side. I also will paint the edge & center of the disc brake silver the next time I have them off, which as you know gets rusty looking. The TPM's reset every time within 5 miles. My new rims are TPM friendly and have two holes, one in the back for the TPM's and one on the front side for a valve for air.
http://smileys.smileycentral.com/cat/12/12_7_21.gif (http://www.smileycentral.com/?partner=ZSzeb001_ZS)Bob
standby- At first, I thought mine automatically reset (like my previous car) ... But it would cause an intermittent dash warning. On occasion, it would occur on startup ... But most times, it would happen about 30 mins into my commute.







http://www.smileycentral.com/sig.jsp?pc=ZSzeb112&pp=ZS (http://smiley.smileycentral.com/download/index.jhtml?partner=ZSzeb112_ZS&utm_id=7920)

tireguy
11-26-2006, 11:44 AM
If you call a tire store(discount tire co. or americas tire co) you will find that most can or soon can reset the tpms system with a special reset tool,as all vehicles will have tpms by 2008 all tire stores will need to have these, by the way ,we do it for free as well as free flat tire repairs and the resetting only takes a few mins.

standby
11-26-2006, 12:49 PM
I guess it would be a nice ride, but it sure would cost me a lot of money
BobIf you call a tire store(discount tire co. or americas tire co) you will find that most can or soon can reset the tpms system with a special reset tool,as all vehicles will have tpms by 2008 all tire stores will need to have these, by the way ,we do it for free as well as free flat tire repairs and the resetting only takes a few mins.

1_XLR
11-27-2006, 08:44 AM
C,
Actually mine set automatically on my V. When I put the 20's on with the old TPM's they reset themsleves after driving 5 miles. I'm not going to question it, I just like it.
Bob


The TPMs have always reset themselves, but unless you put the same monitor back to the same location when the wheels were changed, then the reading inside will not be for the wheel you think it is. You may want to test this.

master_jim
12-11-2006, 12:10 PM
I am also having issues trying to reset my 2006 XLR. :( I had new rims put on and the store did not keep track of location. Also they don't have the tool (and it is a Discount Tire store). So I tried the magnet (and a VERY strong one) - I could get the system to start - horn chirp (but only one) - but could never get the LF to acknowledge - however all sensors are working - just wrong positions.

The 2006 manaul does not talk about the magnet as being used - only the RF triggering method - so 2006 may be something new. :rolleyes

1_XLR
12-11-2006, 02:01 PM
this is the tool it calls for.......GM part J41760 ....I've never seen one so I don't know how big the "magnet" is.
I used a magnet off the back of a speaker, that I drilled a hole in to slip over the stem...worked great on both my 04 and 06V.

standby
12-11-2006, 04:17 PM
Come on now, this is an easy one. Switch the rims to the settings the DIC is reading out.
Bob
I am also having issues trying to reset my 2006 XLR. :( I had new rims put on and the store did not keep track of location. Also they don't have the tool (and it is a Discount Tire store). So I tried the magnet (and a VERY strong one) - I could get the system to start - horn chirp (but only one) - but could never get the LF to acknowledge - however all sensors are working - just wrong positions.

The 2006 manaul does not talk about the magnet as being used - only the RF triggering method - so 2006 may be something new. :rolleyes

1_XLR
12-11-2006, 04:30 PM
that's one way to do it assuming your front / rear are the same size (mine are not). .....but that takes the fun out of making things work (reset) they way they are suposed to.

standby
12-11-2006, 04:34 PM
Yes, I'm thinking like my rims which are all 20"s, but they could match up if your lucky, like LF to RF and LR to RR

master_jim
12-14-2006, 02:02 PM
Well took my 2006 car to Discount Tire again - they did the reseting of the TMPS - but indicated that the magnet system did not work on it - they needed to use the RF methodology.
Also the manual is wrong - entry to the TPM cal mode only gives a single chirp on entry - and the double chirp on exit

As to the moving the wheel around - interesting solution for some - but given I have asymetrical tires frt to rear and they have a "rolling direction" - I can't move a thing! ;)

427
12-17-2006, 08:53 PM
I've found my situation to be similar ... Magnets didn't work on my '06 either.

Well took my 2006 car to Discount Tire again - they did the reseting of the TMPS - but indicated that the magnet system did not work on it - they needed to use the RF methodology.